[Today at 02:22:57 PM]

D-I Logo Quiz by IL Warrior
[Today at 02:09:27 PM]

Big East 2024 Offseason by barfolomew
[Today at 02:08:20 PM]

2024-25 Outlook by GoldenEagles03
[Today at 01:48:03 PM]

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address.  We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or register NOW!

Author Topic: Cities suck, suburbs blow (i.e. chicago and burbs)  (Read 20096 times)

Galway Eagle

• All American
Cities suck, suburbs blow (i.e. chicago and burbs)
« on: May 15, 2013, 09:57:35 AM »
As a state of Illinois taxpayer, I am infinity percent against this plan. If the city wants to use their own money, fine, I don't care. As a Kane County resident, I expect to contribute zero dollars and zero cents to this proposal, and I live in the suburbs. Quinn's up for re-election next year, after saying "no way will I raise state income taxes" during his last campaign (for those that don't live in the state, income taxes went up 66% literally minutes before the incoming state legislature for 2011 was coming in), there is no way he will offer state money for this. Good luck trying to convince anyone south of I-80 to support this.

Kane county residents consider themselves in suburbs? We consider you in the country...
Maigh Eo for Sam

warriorchick

• All American
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 10:26:27 AM »
Kane county residents consider themselves in suburbs? We consider you in the country...

Get out of the city once in awhile, Boxer.  Urban sprawl goes practically to DeKalb now.  And there aren't many farms left in Kane, especially the ones that aren't basically tourist attractions with apples and pumpkins instead of corn and soybeans.

When we moved to Western DuPage 24 years ago, it was the boonies.  Now we are almost considered an inner suburb.
Have some patience, FFS.

Galway Eagle

• All American