Main Menu
collapse

Resources

Recent Posts

Recruiting as of 5/15/25 by tower912
[Today at 11:26:06 AM]


More conference realignment talk by DFW HOYA
[July 03, 2025, 07:58:45 PM]


Marquette freshmen at Goolsby's 7/12 by MU Fan in Connecticut
[July 03, 2025, 04:04:32 PM]


EA Sports College Basketball Is Back by Jay Bee
[July 02, 2025, 11:35:01 AM]

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address. We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or signup NOW!


Jay Bee

Quote from: QuetteHoops on September 25, 2012, 12:01:57 AM
Jennings with 2 hands on the ball and the ball on his chest...while tate has one hand barely on it is simultaneous possession? Don't think so man...In fact anyone arguing is obviously just trolling..

Yeah, let's look at a still frame when the play is dead.  That'll show the whole story.

The portal is NOT closed.

ChitownSpaceForRent

As a Bear fan couldnt be happier. But will also to be the first to admit it was an awful call.

4everwarriors

Quote from: Stone Cold on September 24, 2012, 10:13:13 PM
chili, I think this crew has done a damn good job thus far.    Making Gruden look whiny.



How you feelin' now, dude?
"Give 'Em Hell, Al"

Tugg Speedman

Packer fans are such whiners. It was a good call (except the missed PAT).

The only reason you're not 0-3 is Cutler had a bad game.

The reason you're 1-2 is you're not a good team.  I hate to break it to you but your defense is an embarrassment.

8-8 and no playoffs this year.

Signed ... A Bears fan

Hards Alumni

#54
Quote from: AnotherMU84 on September 25, 2012, 06:27:23 AM
Packer fans are such whiners. It was a good call (except the missed PAT).

The only reason you're not 0-3 is Cutler had a bad game.

The reason you're 1-2 is you're not a good team.  I hate to break it to you but your defense is an embarrassment.

8-8 and no playoffs this year.

Signed ... A Bears fan

Signed a troll.

That call was clearly wrong and if you don't agree I think the NFL should hire you too.  You'd fit right in.

It is one thing to revel in the schadenfreude, but to really think that was the right call on the field takes a level of ignorance I didn't expect to find in any legitimate sports discussion.  Obvious troll is obvious.

MerrittsMustache

On the bright side, for the second straight week, people will ignore the fact that the Packers' offense has looked terrible so far this season.


Dish

In the Bears media guide, there's an * next to the Majik game. I wouldn't blame the Packers if they put a * next to this one. That was their Majik game.

jesmu84

#57
Quote from: MUDish on September 24, 2012, 10:50:14 PM
So I'm just going to assume the real officials have a deal done by 7am tomorrow, right?

Maybe.. don't the real officials have TONS of leverage after last night? This is all on the NFL/owners/Goodell.

Also heard this morning that some of the replacements are former lingerie football league officials that were FIRED from the lingerie league for incompetence. wow.

jesmu84

I believe, since the rule reads "control" and not "possession" the call should have been INT. However, once the refs called touchdown on the field, they, by rule, could NOT overturn that in replay (so at least that got that part correct).

I haven't seen a call that bad since the Braun suspension got overturned.

GGGG

Quote from: MerrittsMustache on September 25, 2012, 06:39:23 AM
On the bright side, for the second straight week, people will ignore the fact that the Packers' offense has looked terrible so far this season.


In the second half the offense was fine...with the exception that Rodgers missed that pass to Driver.  That would have been 17 and the game would have been over.  They should have made the change in strategy half way through the first half.

MerrittsMustache

Quote from: jesmu84 on September 25, 2012, 07:19:15 AM
I haven't seen a call that bad since the Braun suspension got overturned.

Line of the night!

QuetteHoops

Quote from: Jay Bee on September 25, 2012, 12:08:14 AM
Yeah, let's look at a still frame when the play is dead.  That'll show the whole story.



It's not a simultaneous catch if one player tries to gain possession after the other player already has it...That still frame is before the play was even called dead, not to mention the refs made two separate calls. How can it be a TD if there was a point before the play was called dead that Tate wasn't even touching the ball?

I guess I would just like to know what part of the call was OK... 

Pakuni

Hello, irony.

Packers debacle has Wisconsin governor supporting referees' union

Labor unions view Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker as Public Enemy No. 1 after he championed legislation stripping unions of the ability to collectively bargain, then survived a union-backed recall attempt. But after the Packers' loss on Monday Night Football, Walker has finally found a union he supports: The NFL Referees Association.


http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/09/25/packers-debacle-has-wisconsin-governor-supporting-referees-union/

WellsstreetWanderer

Pack made nice adjustments in 2nd half but when your quarterback gets sacked 8 time in a half its hard to expect to win a game

QuetteHoops

Quote from: elephantraker on September 25, 2012, 09:25:20 AM
Pack made nice adjustments in 2nd half but when your quarterback gets sacked 8 time in a half its hard to expect to win a game

Good point...but it makes it easier to expect a win when according to the rules you won the game.

Benny B

Quote from: QuetteHoops on September 25, 2012, 12:01:57 AM
Jennings with 2 hands on the ball and the ball on his chest...while tate has one hand barely on it is simultaneous possession? Don't think so man...In fact anyone arguing is obviously just trolling..

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=264620373641307&set=a.102300189873327.3257.100002800393994&type=1

The game-ending TD could have gone either way on the field.  In real time and even in replay, it appears to be a simultaneous catch; however, when you look at that still frame, it appears to be an INT.

But there are three problems with the still frame:

1) What appears to be Jennings with "possession" in the shot only lasts for a 1/10th of a second,
2) You don't see Tate's second arm which is also in contact with the ball at that point,
3) That still frame was taken 4 seconds after the players hit the ground and while they were wrestling around.

The simultaneous catch rule has no provision for who has more possession of the football.  Steve Mariucci said Jennings had "90% of the football."  It doesn't matter if Jennings had 99% of the football -- if two players have control, then it is a simultaneous catch.

Jennings appeared to catch the ball with two hands, but replays also show that Tate had one hand firmly on the ball the entire time.  There is no rule that says you have to catch a ball with two hands.  There's no rule that says you have to catch the ball using only your hands.  As long as you're in bounds and the ball doesn't touch the ground, you can use any part of your or a defender's body to aid in securing the ball.  In this case, Jennings and Tate were both securing the ball against Jennings' body.  But again... it doesn't matter who had more of the ball or who had more hands on the ball... both Tate and Jennings made contact with the ball at the same time and both maintained control going to the ground.  Simultaneous catch.
Quote from: LittleMurs on January 08, 2015, 07:10:33 PM
Wow, I'm very concerned for Benny.  Being able to mimic Myron Medcalf's writing so closely implies an oncoming case of dementia.

Benny B

Quote from: Pakuni on September 25, 2012, 09:23:23 AM
Hello, irony.

Packers debacle has Wisconsin governor supporting referees' union

Labor unions view Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker as Public Enemy No. 1 after he championed legislation stripping unions of the ability to collectively bargain, then survived a union-backed recall attempt. But after the Packers' loss on Monday Night Football, Walker has finally found a union he supports: The NFL Referees Association.


http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/09/25/packers-debacle-has-wisconsin-governor-supporting-referees-union/

And NFL referees are made up of the 1%ers that the unions and left-wingers so despise.  So what?
Quote from: LittleMurs on January 08, 2015, 07:10:33 PM
Wow, I'm very concerned for Benny.  Being able to mimic Myron Medcalf's writing so closely implies an oncoming case of dementia.

GGGG

Quote from: Benny B on September 25, 2012, 09:35:44 AM
The game-ending TD could have gone either way on the field.  In real time and even in replay, it appears to be a simultaneous catch; however, when you look at that still frame, it appears to be an INT.

But there are three problems with the still frame:

1) What appears to be Jennings with "possession" in the shot only lasts for a 1/10th of a second,
2) You don't see Tate's second arm which is also in contact with the ball at that point,
3) That still frame was taken 4 seconds after the players hit the ground and while they were wrestling around.

The simultaneous catch rule has no provision for who has more possession of the football.  Steve Mariucci said Jennings had "90% of the football."  It doesn't matter if Jennings had 99% of the football -- if two players have control, then it is a simultaneous catch.

Jennings appeared to catch the ball with two hands, but replays also show that Tate had one hand firmly on the ball the entire time.  There is no rule that says you have to catch a ball with two hands.  There's no rule that says you have to catch the ball using only your hands.  As long as you're in bounds and the ball doesn't touch the ground, you can use any part of your or a defender's body to aid in securing the ball.  In this case, Jennings and Tate were both securing the ball against Jennings' body.  But again... it doesn't matter who had more of the ball or who had more hands on the ball... both Tate and Jennings made contact with the ball at the same time and both maintained control going to the ground.  Simultaneous catch.


This...once again...shows that you lack an understanding of the rules.  Jennings clearly had possession with two hand and pinned against his chest.  Tate didn't have control if he had one hand on it, when the other had two hands first, and Tate only got his second hand on it by reaching around Jennings.

Considering that pretty much everyone but the dumbass game officials sees it this way should tell you that you are flat...out...wrong.  Again.

MerrittsMustache

Quote from: The Sultan of South Wayne on September 25, 2012, 10:03:18 AM

This...once again...shows that you lack an understanding of the rules.  Jennings clearly had possession with two hand and pinned against his chest.  Tate didn't have control if he had one hand on it, when the other had two hands first, and Tate only got his second hand on it by reaching around Jennings.

Considering that pretty much everyone but the dumbass game officials sees it this way should tell you that you are flat...out...wrong.  Again.

The game officials are the only people whose opinions matter. TOUCHDOWN!

QuetteHoops

Quote from: Benny B on September 25, 2012, 09:35:44 AM
The game-ending TD could have gone either way on the field.  In real time and even in replay, it appears to be a simultaneous catch; however, when you look at that still frame, it appears to be an INT.

But there are three problems with the still frame:

1) What appears to be Jennings with "possession" in the shot only lasts for a 1/10th of a second,
2) You don't see Tate's second arm which is also in contact with the ball at that point,
3) That still frame was taken 4 seconds after the players hit the ground and while they were wrestling around.

The simultaneous catch rule has no provision for who has more possession of the football.  Steve Mariucci said Jennings had "90% of the football."  It doesn't matter if Jennings had 99% of the football -- if two players have control, then it is a simultaneous catch.

Jennings appeared to catch the ball with two hands, but replays also show that Tate had one hand firmly on the ball the entire time.  There is no rule that says you have to catch a ball with two hands.  There's no rule that says you have to catch the ball using only your hands.  As long as you're in bounds and the ball doesn't touch the ground, you can use any part of your or a defender's body to aid in securing the ball.  In this case, Jennings and Tate were both securing the ball against Jennings' body.  But again... it doesn't matter who had more of the ball or who had more hands on the ball... both Tate and Jennings made contact with the ball at the same time and both maintained control going to the ground.  Simultaneous catch.

I think you're confusing Tate having his hand on the ball for possession of the ball....that being said the rule clearly says " It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control." Which was the case with the play.Not a simultaneous catch.

GGGG

Quote from: MerrittsMustache on September 25, 2012, 10:17:29 AM
The game officials are the only people whose opinions matter. TOUCHDOWN!


Correct.  I'm not suggesting otherwise.  And they are just as wrong as Benny is.

QuetteHoops

Quote from: MerrittsMustache on September 25, 2012, 10:17:29 AM
The game officials are the only people whose opinions matter. TOUCHDOWN!


That's true but it's also fair to point out that their "opinion" was wrong...

Benny B

Quote from: The Sultan of South Wayne on September 25, 2012, 10:03:18 AM

This...once again...shows that you lack an understanding of the rules.  Jennings clearly had possession with two hand and pinned against his chest.  Tate didn't have control if he had one hand on it, when the other had two hands first, and Tate only got his second hand on it by reaching around Jennings.

Considering that pretty much everyone but the dumbass game officials sees it this way should tell you that you are flat...out...wrong.  Again.

And again, you are just being flat... out... ignorant.

Please, by all means go to: http://static.nfl.com/static/content/public/image/rulebook/pdfs/11_Rule8_ForwardPass_BackPass_Fumble.pdf and tell me where it says anything about "possession" in Article 3 Item 5.

You're making a poor assumption by saying a player cannot be "in control" of the football with one hand based upon another player being "in control" using two hands.  Take off the blinders, and go back and watch the replays on NFL.com... every angle shows that the ball made contact with Tate's and Jennings' hands at the same time.  A catch must be maintained going to the ground, and by the time both players hit the ground, both players are clearly in control of the ball.  

Yes, Jennings had more of the ball than Tate had, but that doesn't matter.  Both had control of the football.  Simultaneous catch.
Quote from: LittleMurs on January 08, 2015, 07:10:33 PM
Wow, I'm very concerned for Benny.  Being able to mimic Myron Medcalf's writing so closely implies an oncoming case of dementia.

GGGG

Quote from: Benny B on September 25, 2012, 10:22:13 AM
And again, you are just being flat... out... ignorant.

Please, by all means go to: http://static.nfl.com/static/content/public/image/rulebook/pdfs/11_Rule8_ForwardPass_BackPass_Fumble.pdf and tell me where it says anything about "possession" in Article 3 Item 5.

You're making a poor assumption by saying a player cannot be "in control" of the football with one hand based upon another player being "in control" using two hands.  Take off the blinders, and go back and watch the replays on NFL.com... every angle shows that the ball made contact with Tate's and Jennings' hands at the same time.  A catch must be maintained going to the ground, and by the time both players hit the ground, both players are clearly in control of the ball.  

Yes, Jennings had more of the ball than Tate had, but that doesn't matter.  Both had control of the football.  Simultaneous catch.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/writers/peter_king/09/25/replacement-referees-packers-seahawks/index.html

"As former NFL official and officiating supervisor Jim Daopoulos, now an NBC consultant, said this morning..."But look at the play...Simultaneous possession is two men catching the ball at the same time. Tate sticking his
hand in there is not enough for simultaneous possession.''

A former NFL official and official supervisor's interpretation of the rules>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Benny's interpretation of the rules.


Flat...out...wrong....AGAIN!!!!

brewcity77

Quote from: Pakuni on September 25, 2012, 09:23:23 AM
Hello, irony.

Packers debacle has Wisconsin governor supporting referees' union

It's all about priorities. Teachers, sanitation, public safety clearly aren't as important as a Packers win. Just look at the outrage on FB. Just the sad state of our society.

Previous topic - Next topic