[Today at 11:08:12 AM]

Lakers Going After Hurley by WhiteTrash
[Today at 11:02:55 AM]

2024 Mock Drafts by MuggsyB
[Today at 10:56:27 AM]

2024-25 Outlook by Herman Cain
[June 07, 2024, 09:51:11 PM]

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address.  We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or register NOW!

Author Topic: Free-lance editing/proofreading  (Read 1378 times)

WI inferiority Complexes

• Team Captain
Free-lance editing/proofreading
« on: October 25, 2013, 02:18:37 PM »
You guys all seem to have jobs....

I am a high school English teacher who desperately needs to get out of the classroom.  It used to be something I loved, but after 13 years, I know it's not the best fit for me.

I feel like I'm constantly being told by business professionals that their employees have trouble writing.  While the idea of becoming a free-lance editor/proofreader is appealing to me, as someone who has spent his entire life in the education bubble, I do not even know where to start.

Does anyone work for a company which employs outside editors?  Is this even a profession?

ZiggysFryBoy

• All American
  • MEDITERRANEAN TACOS!
Re: Free-lance editing/proofreading
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 02:41:09 PM »
I would think that if you are looking to free lance, by the very nature of that, you wouldn't be looking to get hired by a company, but rather as a contractor.

Would technical writing be up your alley? 

Worse case scenario, the Snuggle House in madison is hiring (Hards applied but was too hairy.)

ChicosBailBonds

• All American
  • #AllInnocentLivesMatter
    • Cracked Sidewalks
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 02:53:33 PM »
You guys all seem to have jobs....