collapse

* Recent Posts

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address.  We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or register NOW!

Author Topic: Studying in London  (Read 5540 times)

PaintTouches

• All American
Studying in London
« on: January 03, 2011, 09:21:50 AM »
I'm a few hours away from heading off to London for a semester abroad, any tips or advice from the scoopers who have been to London/Europe?

WellsstreetWanderer

• All American
Re: Studying in London
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 09:35:31 AM »
get everywhere you can while there: Italy-Tuscany & Cinque Terra,Rome & pompei
 You won't forget the food in Italy

DegenerateDish

• All American
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 09:36:32 AM »
Not sure if MU still has an affiliation with St. Clare's in Oxford, but I studied there for a semester while at Marquette, best semester of my life. London is a fantastic city, except for how expensive it is, and the current exchange rate won't do you any favors.

My best advice is see/do as much as you can, and don't think twice. If you're studying in London proper, go spend a day in Oxford, or the Lake District, or head west to Wales, or up to Scotland. Spend a weekend in Ireland or Paris, or go crazy and spend a week long break in Egypt or go skiing in the Alps.

The first two weeks are probably the hardest, getting your body set up to the 6 hour time difference, and getting acquainted with where you're living. I studied in England in 1999, before everyone had cell phones, wireless internet was still a "no way" concept, no iPods, no iPads, so I can only imagine it must be a lot easier to study overseas these days.

Hards Alumni

• All American
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 09:39:41 AM »