collapse

Resources

2024-2025 SOTG Tally


2024-25 Season SoG Tally
Jones, K.10
Mitchell6
Joplin4
Ross2
Gold1

'23-24 '22-23
'21-22 * '20-21 * '19-20
'18-19 * '17-18 * '16-17
'15-16 * '14-15 * '13-14
'12-13 * '11-12 * '10-11

Big East Standings

Recent Posts

Pearson to MU by tower912
[Today at 05:47:57 AM]


Marquette freshmen at Goolsby's 7/12 by MuMark
[July 12, 2025, 09:44:22 PM]


Recruiting as of 7/15/25 by MuMark
[July 12, 2025, 07:09:07 PM]


Marquette NBA Thread by MuggsyB
[July 12, 2025, 08:06:27 AM]


Nash Walker commits to MU by Captain Quette
[July 11, 2025, 02:40:11 PM]


Congrats to Royce by tower912
[July 10, 2025, 09:00:17 PM]

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address. We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or signup NOW!

Next up: A long offseason

Marquette
66
Marquette
Scrimmage
Date/Time: Oct 4, 2025
TV: NA
Schedule for 2024-25
New Mexico
75

timinatorx3

Quote from: The Sultan of South Wayne on December 29, 2010, 10:54:27 PM
I thought the rebound went over the backboard.  It obviously wasn't a foul.

It went over the corner of the backboard. I thought it had to hit something but that may be only the pros I guess?? Correct me if I am wrong.

NersEllenson

Quote from: The Sultan of South Wayne on December 29, 2010, 10:54:27 PM
I thought the rebound went over the backboard.  It obviously wasn't a foul.

Just re-watched it (duh!!), and it did go over the corner of the backboard..never touched the top..or the corner for that matter...but I guess that is the rule..that if any part of the ball comes down "behind" the backboard..it is considered out of bounds??  Ironically Burr was stationed under the basket at that time..but did not whistle it..it was the official outside the 3 point line.

Sadly..Otule had a complete uncontested dunk...there was nobody in his way..easy dunk putback..the breaks I guess.  Can you clarify if the above is considered out of bounds - even though the ball never touched the top or corner of backboard?
"I'm not sure Cadougan would fix the problems on this team. I'm not even convinced he would be better for this team than DeWil is."

BrewCity77, December 8, 2013

GGGG

Quote from: Ners on December 29, 2010, 10:58:51 PM
Just re-watched it (duh!!), and it did go over the corner of the backboard..never touched the top..or the corner for that matter...but I guess that is the rule..that if any part of the ball comes down "behind" the backboard..it is considered out of bounds??  Ironically Burr was stationed under the basket at that time..but did not whistle it..it was the official outside the 3 point line.


It's not Burr's call.  He is supposed to be looking to make sure nothing is happening under the basket with boxouts, etc.  The ref up top *is* supposed to make that call.

Lennys Tap

Quote from: The Sultan of South Wayne on December 29, 2010, 10:49:41 PM

First off, I agree 100% that the Crowder call was BS.  But I don't think an intentional on DJO would have been a good call either...and I don't think that was Burr's call to make.  My recollection was that Burr was in the far corner when that was made.

Even the announcers were stunned when Burr missed the intentional on the DJO breakaway. They were also in agreement (after multiple viewings of the replay) that DJO was tripped/fouled on the final play. That said, there's no crying in basketball. Get ready for UWV.

NCAARules

Quote from: timinatorx3 on December 29, 2010, 10:55:39 PM
It went over the corner of the backboard. I thought it had to hit something but that may be only the pros I guess?? Correct me if I am wrong.

If it goes over the plane of the backboard, then it's out of bounds, dead ball. But it can hit the top of the backboard and come back into the court of play legally. If it at any point fully crosses over the plane above the backboard, the whistle should blow.

I thought it may have nicked the support wire on that corner (one hangs down to each corner of the backboard at Memorial).

timinatorx3

Quote from: NCAARules on December 29, 2010, 11:02:06 PM
If it goes over the plane of the backboard, then it's out of bounds, dead ball. But it can hit the top of the backboard and come back into the court of play legally. If it at any point fully crosses over the plane above the backboard, the whistle should blow.

I thought it may have nicked the support wire on that corner (one hangs down to each corner of the backboard at Memorial).

Thanks for the clarification.

NersEllenson

Quote from: NCAARules on December 29, 2010, 11:02:06 PM
If it goes over the plane of the backboard, then it's out of bounds, dead ball. But it can hit the top of the backboard and come back into the court of play legally. If it at any point fully crosses over the plane above the backboard, the whistle should blow.

I thought it may have nicked the support wire on that corner (one hangs down to each corner of the backboard at Memorial).

Thanks for the clarification..seems like the rule SHOULD be just the opposite??  Right?!  Why should the ball be considered to still be in bounds if it bounces off the top of the backboard..yet if it comes down behind the plane of the backboard it is considered out of bounds?? (which is still probably about 2-3 feet inbounds) given the way baskets extend out over the baseline now days..)
"I'm not sure Cadougan would fix the problems on this team. I'm not even convinced he would be better for this team than DeWil is."

BrewCity77, December 8, 2013

timinatorx3

Quote from: Ners on December 29, 2010, 11:05:17 PM
Thanks for the clarification..seems like the rule SHOULD be just the opposite??  Right?!  Why should the ball be considered to still be in bounds if it bounces off the top of the backboard..yet if it comes down behind the plane of the backboard it is considered out of bounds?? (which is still probably about 2-3 feet inbounds) given the way baskets extend out over the baseline now days..)

Ya I thought it had to hit the shot clock or some part of the hoop apparatus behind the plane of the backboard but I wasn't sure if that was only in the pros (or even if that is the case in the pros).

Previous topic - Next topic