collapse

* Recent Posts

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address.  We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or register NOW!

Author Topic: MU tuition up 3.5%  (Read 20469 times)

jficke13

• All American
Re: MU tuition up 3.5%
« Reply #150 on: January 16, 2020, 04:54:27 PM »
Wasn't advocating bailing out the endebted, merely pointing out that this supports my contention that the cost of education is a systemic problem, and no amount of handwaving changes that.

Anecdotal but a couple of my lawschool classmates posted this on FB today: "Sometimes when I want a good laugh, I go see how much my loans have increased since I graduated law school. Despite my diligent, on-time payments every month for the last almost eight years, my loans have increased $52,725.21." And another classmate commented "Mine are up about $80k since graduation even though I pay every month."

MU Fan in Connecticut

• All American
« Reply #151 on: January 17, 2020, 04:22:54 PM »
This was in today's paper.

rocket surgeon

• All American
  • NA of course
« Reply #152 on: January 17, 2020, 08:21:30 PM »
Nobody pays sticker

----

Private Colleges Offer Record Discounts as Tuition Costs Rise
Big grants for freshmen help students but hurt schools’ budgets
https://www.wsj.com/articles/private-colleges-offer-record-discount-prices-as-tuition-costs-rise-11557428871?mod=article_inline

Tuition-discount rates for first-time, full-time freshmen hit a record 52.2% in the current school year, according to preliminary results from a National Association of College and University Business Officers survey of 405 private, nonprofit schools. The 2018-2019 figure is up from 50.5% in the previous year.