collapse

Resources

2024-2025 SOTG Tally


2024-25 Season SoG Tally
Jones, K.10
Mitchell6
Joplin4
Ross2
Gold1

'23-24 '22-23
'21-22 * '20-21 * '19-20
'18-19 * '17-18 * '16-17
'15-16 * '14-15 * '13-14
'12-13 * '11-12 * '10-11

Big East Standings

Recent Posts

NCAA Tournament expansion as early as next season. by Hards Alumni
[Today at 02:57:18 PM]


Kam update by Hards Alumni
[Today at 02:56:01 PM]


New Shaka w Broeker interview - 10/10 by Warriors4ever
[Today at 01:46:04 PM]


NM by MU82
[Today at 12:08:18 PM]


Cooper Flagg Made $28 Million in NIL by TSmith34, Inc.
[Today at 12:02:12 PM]


Recruiting as of 5/15/25 by Jockey
[Today at 10:55:14 AM]


Psyched about the future of Marquette hoops by Daniel
[Today at 12:42:15 AM]

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address. We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or signup NOW!

Next up: A long offseason

Marquette
66
Marquette
Scrimmage
Date/Time: Oct 4, 2025
TV: NA
Schedule for 2024-25
New Mexico
75

TJ

Tied with ~18 seconds left, Kentucky ball

Kentucky misses a jumper, rebounds, kicks out to top of the key, that guy does a head fake, dribble around defender and a 15 footer goes down.  UK up 2 with 8.8 on the clock.  Timeout.

Georgia inbounds to #5.  He runs the ball up, does a spin move at the arc and knocks down a tremendous 3 point shot.  UG up 1 with 1.2 on the clock.  Timeout.  Then it gets crazy.

UK starts to inbound - inbounder runs the baseline while another guy sets a screen on the defender.  Defender bowls over the screener, as he had no idea the guy was there.  No call.  UK calls a Timeout - Billy G is incredulous that no foul was called.

Second inbounds attempt - UK throws the ball out of bounds.  UG ball under the basket.

UK fouls UG.  UK makes the first free throw.  On the second, UK defender blocks the free throw attempt.  Goaltend and a technical foul.  UG up 3.  They hit 1 of 2 shots and win by 4.

I couldn't believe I saw a guy block a free throw.  It was crazy.

More importantly, should there have been a foul on the inbounds play #1?  I say no.  The guy set a screen - you should expect to get run over.  You can't call that - especially not with 1.2 left on the clock.  And it was pretty crappy that that was Billy G's called play to go for a foul in that situation.

What do you guys think?


ecompt

I didn't see it, but unless there's blood involved with that little time remaining and there was no shot attempted, you let it go. Did Higgins fly down to do the game?

SqueallyDRyan

how did he block the freethrow did he just jump out as he shot it or what?
It's not the size of your Diener; its how you use it

bma725

Quote from: SqueallyDRyan on March 15, 2008, 02:11:25 PM
how did he block the freethrow did he just jump out as he shot it or what?

He was the bottom guy on the lane near the basket.  It looked like he thought a lane violation had been committed, so he jumped up and swatted it when it was about a foot from the basket.  Stupid thing to do.  If there was a lane violation on your team the guy gets another free throw unless he makes it, so there's no point in doing anything to the ball.  If it was against the other team, you get the ball anyway so why swat it?

77ncaachamps

If I were Gillespie, I'd be afraid to return to my Kentucky home.
SS Marquette

TallTitan34

Why is that a technical?  I can see the goaltending and could see the shooter gettting another shot like a lane violation but a T?

Have to admit I haven't seen that one before.

TJ

I was glad it was a technical foul.  It's a free throw, meaning that there will be no interference with the shot.  To interfere with the shot has to be punished.

Also, ESPN has been calling the inbounds play a bad no call.  I still don't understand how this is any different from any other time there is contact between a screener and a defender.  They certainly don't call that a foul normally, so why should they with 1.2 seconds on the clock in a 1 point game in overtime?  The only differences I can see are 1) it was an inbounds play instead of live action and 2) the guy fell down (flopped or enough contact is a judgment call).  Do either of those all of a sudden make it a foul?  Because I've seen much more forceful contact go uncalled before.

77ncaachamps

Quote from: TallTitan34 on March 15, 2008, 05:51:44 PM
Why is that a technical?  I can see the goaltending and could see the shooter gettting another shot like a lane violation but a T?

Have to admit I haven't seen that one before.

I'm not clear on the rules, but I think it was a misunderstanding.

As the on-court reporter had stated, the player thought he made a lane violation and decided to block the shot anyways. The official probably thought he was venting and gave him a T.


BTW, ESPN has the game's article up on their website and I thought this was funny:

When the game started, Georgia fans filled a small section behind the Bulldogs' bench; Kentucky fans were scattered around the court. When the game was still on the line in overtime, UK fans loudly cheered "Go Big Blue! Go Big Blue!"

"I knew Kentucky was into horse breeding," joked former Auburn coach Sonny Smith, who was in attendance. "I didn't know they could breed family members so quickly."

SS Marquette

TallTitan34

Quote from: 77ncaachamps on March 15, 2008, 06:01:12 PM
As the on-court reporter had stated, the player thought he made a lane violation and decided to block the shot anyways. The official probably thought he was venting and gave him a T.

Thanks.  I could see a T then if the ref thought he was venting.

bma725

Venting had nothing to do with it.  Goaltending a free throw is an automatic technical.  The rule states: 

Quotea. One point for basket interference or one point and (men) an indirect technical foul or (women) a player/substitute technical foul for goaltending when, during a free throw, the ball is on its upward or downward flight.

Gillespie talked about it in his press conference after the game, he wanted Stevenson to commit a lane violation and ordered him to goaltend because he wanted Georgia to make the free throw instead of being able to miss on purpose and have time run out.  But he didn't know that the rule stated it was an automatic technical if you goaltend a free throw.

4everwarriors

Please don't use big words like "incredulous" on this board. You never know if the literary geniuses at Pitt, UL, or other like institutions are reading our sheet.
"Give 'Em Hell, Al"

TallTitan34

Quote from: 4everwarriors on March 15, 2008, 08:46:18 PM
Please don't use big words like "incredulous" on this board. You never know if the literary geniuses at Pitt, UL, or other like institutions are reading our sheet.

You are assuming they can read at all.

I never heard of that rule either but then again I have never seen that happen.  I guess I can't really fault Gillespie for not knowing the rule but then again you should probably know what's going on when you are about to pull some crazy stuff like that.

Previous topic - Next topic