From the NCAA Handbook
"Interfering with a shot while it is on its downward flight toward the basket, while it is on its upward flight toward the basket after having touched the backboard, or while it is in the cylinder above the rim."
DAMN THAT PISSES ME OFF. So easy to see. Crean saw it, wanted the 2 points but should have gone ballistic when they didn't give it to us in overtime. TERRIBLE non call. Absolutely terrible.
Just watched it again. It happened real fast, but I don't think it did hit the backboard before Hibbert touched it. But again, it happened really fast.
Definitely hit the backboard....watched it in high def replay on my DVR. Hell, when I saw it live I jumped through the tv and the replays only confirmed it, definitely hit glass.
Cardinals fan view
* AntlersCard
* Member
* Rating: 3.0/5 this site
* 8 posts this site
* Ignore this User
* Send Private Message
Nominate | Report
Posted: Today 4:23 PM
Re: Goaltending...
"I watched the replay after the game was over and the ball had bounced off the backboard and was coming when down he hit it. Obvious goaltend."
I would love to see the replay. I'm withholding judgment until then, because I couldn't tell if it hit the backboard.
I think Titan or someone will put the video up tomorrow...I just saw it again to make sure my eyes work....it's such a NO DOUBTER it's incredible. It's the only way McNeal could shoot the shot. Damn it pisses me off....judgment calls I get are going to not always go one way or the other. I have problems with this one, the ref (you'll see in the video) is RIGHT F'ING THERE. How in the hell he could miss a shot going off the glass is beyond me.
What play are we referring to? I must have been in the bathroom.
What time is this play? I was at the BC, and just can't recall anything about a goaltending issue from 200 feet away. If someone can tell me the approx time, I can watch it on my dvr.
Quote from: jt92 on March 01, 2008, 06:41:46 PM
What play are we referring to? I must have been in the bathroom.
Overtime, MU trailing by 2 points with 1:33 seconds left in overtime. Just watched it again...SO F'ING BLATANT. I just noticed Joannie Crean going NUTS under the basket and rightly so.
McNeal puts ball off the glass and Hibbert pins it into the rim causing a game stop.
Just incredible.
Would have tied the game. Glad Joannie was going nuts, Tom should have as well.
Just watched it on DVR and that was 100% bona fide goaltending. The ball definitely hit the glass first, no doubt about it.
Shouldn't have mattered though. FT's.........
Ok, I watched it. No doubt, it hit the backboard and then Hibbert pinned it. But .. I'd say its unclear if the bottom of the ball was past the rim, meaning it's certainly not going in and is fair game to try and touch (rebound). The fact that Hibbert stuck it in the rim means it was very very close to already being past the rim. Tough call.
.. You can read Joani's lips "Where's the foul??!?!?"
Quote from: mu_hilltopper on March 01, 2008, 07:18:21 PM
But .. I'd say its unclear if the bottom of the ball was past the rim, meaning it's certainly not going in and is fair game to try and touch (rebound).
Hibbert blocked (goaltended) it after it hit the glass, knocking the ball down and towards the rim, pinning it. The ball was definitely above the rim prior to the Hibbert contact.
I've now watched the re-play enough times for my 3-year old to be walking around the house saying......McNeal...Burke.....back to McNeal.......
Boy, I just don't know how you guys can see that so definitively .. I keep waiting for a different, better angle, but there's only one.
Quote from: ONeills Barstool on March 01, 2008, 07:16:22 PM
Just watched it on DVR and that was 100% bona fide goaltending. The ball definitely hit the glass first, no doubt about it.
Shouldn't have mattered though. FT's.........
SHOULDN'T have mattered? That TIES THE GAME!!!!! That was utterly HUGE!!
Quote from: mu_hilltopper on March 01, 2008, 07:18:21 PM
Ok, I watched it. No doubt, it hit the backboard and then Hibbert pinned it. But .. I'd say its unclear if the bottom of the ball was past the rim, meaning it's certainly not going in and is fair game to try and touch (rebound). The fact that Hibbert stuck it in the rim means it was very very close to already being past the rim. Tough call.
.. You can read Joani's lips "Where's the foul??!?!?"
Not a tough call....once the ball hits the backboard YOU CANNOT TOUCH THE BALL....PERIOD. That's why I posted the rule. That is a slam dunk easy call to make.
I don't see how the ball is past the rim at all....sorry, not even close. It was just HORRIBLE. You cannot block a shot after it hits the glass, the easiest goaltending call to make. The hard ones are when it doesn't hit glass and you have to determine where it is in the arc, but not this one. They choked it bad on that call.
If it was past the rim, he would just grab it. But he blocks it so fast because the ball is barely off the rim. Our bench knew it right away, McNeal knew it right away, Crean knew it and didn't follow-up which is beyond me.