There was jump ball.
Nova keeps possession.
There was a foul on MU on the ensuing possession.....therefore the possession arrow doesn't change and if there would have been another jump ball, Nova would have received possession.....again?
What? Never heard that one before.
Had no idea that was a rule and I watch like 4 hours of basketball every night.
I think it was because the foul on Norman was a dead ball foul before the ball was inbounded and therefore no official change of possession for the arrow to switch.
Just be happy Breeding didn't give them four shots and the ball.
Quote from: AlTruda94 on January 30, 2024, 09:58:56 PM
I think it was because the foul on Norman was a dead ball foul before the ball was inbounded and therefore no official change of possession for the arrow to switch.
That is correct. Had that foul occurred at any point after the inbound the arrow would have switched.
If you watch carefully, that is my official scorers don't switch the arrow until it has inbounded. Or they shouldn't.
Quote from: The Sultan of Semantics on January 31, 2024, 04:35:16 AM
That is correct. Had that foul occurred at any point after the inbound the arrow would have switched.
If you watch carefully, that is my official scorers don't switch the arrow until it has inbounded. Or they shouldn't.
So if a team is meant to get the ball via jump ball, but then throw the ensuing inbounds pass out of bounds, do they keep the possession arrow for the next jump ball?
Quote from: g0lden3agle on January 31, 2024, 05:04:18 AM
So if a team is meant to get the ball via jump ball, but then throw the ensuing inbounds pass out of bounds, do they keep the possession arrow for the next jump ball?
Yes. The change in possession does not occur until it is inbounded. For instance if it would thrown off someone before going out of bounds, that still counts and the arrow switches.
I think the only exception to this is if the team inbounding the ball makes an inbounds violation - like stepping over the line.