MUScoop

MUScoop => Hangin' at the Al => Topic started by: ErickJD08 on February 17, 2009, 10:30:03 PM

Title: Rule Question
Post by: ErickJD08 on February 17, 2009, 10:30:03 PM
OK, so that play where the SH player tapped the ball inbounds and reestablishes himself inbounds and grabbed the ball.  Isn't it a pass to himself, ie Travelling?  Can anyone explain?
Title: Re: Rule Question
Post by: romey on February 18, 2009, 12:16:13 AM
I wondered about that too, but I don't think I saw the whole play.  From what I gather, he was dribbling, was forced out or somehow was heade out of bounds and tapped the ball in ("saved it"), came back in, re-established position (both feet down) then picked the ball up.  From what Valvano said, it was legal as long as he didn't dribble again.  I think it's the same as if he was dribbling downcourt and "poked the ball ahead, with ONE hand, then went after it and retrieved it without dribbling.  Not a pass, per se, if he doesn't pick up his dribble.  Anyone else?
EhPortal 1.39.9 © 2025, WebDev