[Today at 05:59:48 PM]

Tyler Kolek and Oso Ighodaro NBA Combine by Jay Bee
[Today at 05:37:37 PM]

Recruiting as of 5/15/24 by JakeBarnes
[Today at 04:41:29 PM]

NIL Future by muwarrior69
[Today at 11:39:44 AM]

Please Register - It's FREE!

The absolute only thing required for this FREE registration is a valid e-mail address.  We keep all your information confidential and will NEVER give or sell it to anyone else.
Login to get rid of this box (and ads) , or register NOW!

* Next up: The long cold summer

Marquette
Marquette

Open Practice

Date/Time: Oct 11, 2024 ???
TV: NA
Schedule for 2023-24
27-10

Author Topic: Al McGuire Center  (Read 6397 times)

SD Warrior

• Walk-On
Al McGuire Center
« on: February 05, 2010, 11:42:58 AM »
Does anyone know why they didn't make the Al big enough to host men's games? Limited funds, space, etc? I was a student when they were building it but I don't remember the reasoning. I know they can generate more revenue at a larger arena like the BC but they also pay a lot for the lease. I think it would have been cool to have a 8,000-9,000 seat arena and play a few home games there each year. Thanks for the info.

krocheck

• Starter
Re: Al McGuire Center
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 11:49:52 AM »
I really like MU's venue setup.  Being able to have beverages at every men's game is only a bonus.  So, I disagree.

There may not have been enough land to build what you suggest and still have enough room for all the support facilities and offices.  Cobeen would be in the way.

http://maps.google.com/?ie=UTF8&ll=43.03952,-87.926255&spn=0.002466,0.005681&t=h&z=18

They just barely got it in as-is.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 11:52:45 AM by krocheck »

LA

• Starter
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2010, 12:02:15 PM »
I agree with Crean that having beverages at the game is quite the advantage over on campus facilities.